Minute for History presented by Rev. Walter Dosch

The Ardmore Presbyterian Church means a great deal to me because of three personalities.  Back in 1950 after we had served as a chaplain in the Navy we went to the Absecon Presbyterian Church where we served for four years and then in 1950 we were called to the Westminster-Mayfair Presbyterian Church in northeast Philadelphia and your pastor Allan Frew was the moderator of the Presbytery and he welcomed us into the Presbytery here in Philadelphia and he was your pastor.

And then when I was a student in Princeton Theological Seminary, Dr. Kenneth Hammonds was there, we were both members of the Warfield Club and today I came up from Ocean City in order to preach here at Ardmore Presbyterian Church and I went to the closet to look for my robe and I couldn’t find it and so now I am wearing Kenneth Hammonds’ robe in the Ardmore Presbyterian Church and I now have a doctors degree.  Thank you, Kenneth Hammonds!

The third name that I want to bring to your attention is Dr. and Mrs. Charles E. Scott and Dr. Scott and Mrs. Scott after serving as missionaries in China regarded the Ardmore Church as their church home and they sat about ten pews from the back on the north side every Sunday except when he was invited by me and by others to come and give a mission ministry and so we used to come and pick up Dr. Charles Ernest Scott and bring him to Westminster-Mayfair Presbyterian Church and we had a wonderful relationship and even to this day when I am going down Lancaster Avenue, Route 30 and come to Church Road where it crosses Lancaster Avenue I think of bringing home Dr. Charles Ernest Scott and his wife home as they lived here in this community.